What is the SA20 league in cricket?

What is the SA20 league in cricket?

The SA20 is a T20 league tournament of South Africa that is played between franchise teams. It began in 2022 and is contested between six teams based on different cities of the country.

The six franchise teams are MI Cape Town, Durban’s Super Giants, Joburg Super Kings, Paarl Royals, Pretoria Capitals, and Sunrisers Eastern Cape. Each of these teams are owned by franchises that find their root in the Indian Premier League.

The tournament is governed by Africa Cricket Development Pvt Ltd., within whom Cricket South Africa, SuperSport, and Indian Premier League hold stakes. Teams purchase players based on an auction. Each franchise team has 17 players. Five of these players are signed before the auction. Three international players, one South African player, and one uncapped South African player.

The tournament follows a double round-robin format where each team plays the other twice. Top four teams in the league stage proceed to the knockout rounds. The top two teams face in the first qualifier. The winner of the match progresses to the final. Teams placed third and fourth contest an eliminator. The winner of the match faces the loser of the first qualifier. The winner of this match makes the final and faces the winner of the first qualifier for the title.

The tournament is broadcast in South Africa, United Kingdom, and India.  The SA20 has a staggering prize pool of INR 31.15 crores, out of which the winning side bags INR 15.40 crores. Sunrisers Eastern Cape won the inaugural edition of the even in 2022-23.

Author: Nicholas Griffin